Black Country Muse

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Beliefs and other Oddities. > Cradley Heaths Lost Pub.

Alaska.
Site Owner

Now in some other posts, the ground subsidence, caused by mining, has been mentioned. Way back in 1866, it was a bit more of a problem, given that the Earl of Dudley, could dig exactly where and when he liked. He did though, from time to time, build, or for a small rent, allow a few houses on his land. Such was the case at a little place called Newtown, situated between Cradley Heath, and Old Hill. The place grew over the years, and by the time of this tale, it had quite a few houses, and at least 4 Pubs. The Licencee of one of them, was Matthew Tromans, a Chainmaker by trade, who, with his wife Susannah Tromans, ( nee Fleming ) and most of his family of 8 Children, all resided at the premises. For anyone researching the names, Matthew was born in Newtown in 1816, and his wife was born about 1817 in Lye. They were married in Wordsley, in 1838, and all of their children had Biblical names.